History of Athletics

 1836 – Emory & Henry College is founded

1838 – First classes are held

Late 1870’s – First recorded athletic contest, a baseball game at King College

1878 – First reference to an athletic event on campus, a football game

1892 – Emory & Henry trustees authorize intercollegiate football

1895 – Emory & Henry trustees vote to permanently ban football because of concerns about high rates of injury and even death in the sport, and the fear that sports would detract from the intellectual pursuits of the College

1901 – One of the earliest basketball games is played on campus

1903 – One of the earliest baseball games is played on campus

Early 1900’s – Tennis is played on campus

1913 – E&H defeats University of North Carolina 20-17 and Wake Forest College 28-21 in basketball

1915 –Trustees vote to reinstate football after rules of the game are changed and NCAA is formed to oversee intercollegiate athletics after pressure from President Theodore Roosevelt

1921 – E&H trustees vote to admit women

1921 – E&H football competes against University of Tennessee in the first game ever in what is now Neyland Stadium; E&H dubbed “Wasps” by a reporter after the game

1927-28 – E&H football, under the direction of Coach Pedie Jackson, remains undefeated

1931 – Baseball player Monte Weaver (’27) enters Major League Baseball and plays until 1939

1935 – Glenn Roberts (’35) is voted a First Team All-American (all divisions) and was the first collegiate player to score more than 2,000 points in a career; he is credited as being one of the first to use the jump shot; his accomplishments are featured on the website for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

1949 – E&H football competes in the Burley Bowl and the Tangerine Bowl

1950 – E&H football competes in the Burley Bowl and the Tangerine Bowl

1953 – E&H football competes in the Burley Bowl

1962 – Wasps win the Smoky Mountain Athletic Conference Championship with an 8-0-1 record including an improbable come-from-behind victory over national powerhouse Washington and Lee; Earl Hawkins scored five touchdowns in the game that is arguably considered one of the greatest in E&H football history

1963 – Coach Carl Bolt leads the baseball team to a Smoky Mountain Athletic Conference Championship

1964 – Eleanor Hall Hutton hired and begins the modern era of women’s sports; coaches volleyball (1965-76), basketball (1965-78) and tennis (1965-88)

1964 – Earl Hawkins becomes the first Wasps player to be drafted into the NFL

1969 – Larry Bales is drafted by the Dallas Cowboys and Sonny Wade is drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles

1973 – E&H becomes a charter member of the newly-formed NCAA Division III

1973 – Eleanor Hutton leads volleyball program to a State Championship

1974 – Women’s basketball team, under Coach Hutton, defeats University of Virginia, James Madison and William and Mary to become state runner-up, losing to Roanoke College in finals.

1976 – E&H becomes a charter member of the Old Dominion Athletic Conference

1977 – Margaret Hutson joins the staff to teach and coach volleyball after coaching women’s basketball at University of Tennessee

1977-83 – Margaret Hutson leads team to seven consecutive 20-win seasons in volleyball, including the only 30-win season in school history in 1983

1980 – Eleanor Hutton leads the women’s tennis team to a State Championship

1980 – Coach Bob Johnson hired as men’s basketball coach

1981 – Women’s tennis again wins a State Championship, a South Atlantic Region Championship and a #9 national ranking

1981 – E&H hires Joy Scruggs, a former UT Lady Vol basketball player, to coach women’s basketball

1982 – The NCAA and ODAC begin sponsorship of women’s athletics; previously women’s sports were held under the AIAW.

1982 – E&H hires Lou Wacker, a long-time assistant from Hampden-Sydney to coach the football team; Wacker will lead the team to 11 ODAC Championships and five NCAA Tournament berths in his 23-year tenure

1985 – Women’s tennis wins first of three consecutive ODAC Tennis Championships under Coach Hutton; Coach Hutton is selected as ODAC Coach of the Year

1985 – Football team wins first of 11 ODAC Championships under Coach Wacker

1986 – Coach Wacker leads Wasps to ODAC Championship and first-ever Division III NCAA Tournament berth

1986 – Coach Eleanor Hutton receives ODAC Coach of the Year award and the Division III National Tennis Coach of the Year award which is presented to her by women’s tennis legend Chris Evert

1987 – Wasps earn another berth to NCAA football playoffs

1988 – Bob Johnson leads men’s basketball team to first of five consecutive 20-win seasons; team makes first NCAA tournament appearance advancing to the “Sweet Sixteen”

1988 – Head Coach Joy Scruggs leads the women’s basketball program to the ODAC championship

1988 and 90 – Wasps repeat as ODAC Champions in football

1990, 1991 and 1992 – Men’s basketball makes three more NCAA tournament appearances under Coach Johnson

1991 – Ruthie Woodring wins the ODAC title in women’s cross country and is selected as ODAC Runner of the Year

1992 – Coach Wacker again leads Wasps football team to ODAC title and NCAA Tournament

1993 – E&H starts men’s soccer program

1993 – Bob Johnson leads men’s basketball program to fifth consecutive NCAA tournament appearance and the second “Sweet Sixteen” appearance

1994 – Wasps win first of four consecutive (1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997) ODAC football titles

1995 – Wasps appear in the NCAA football tournament after winning ODAC

1995 – E&H starts softball program

1996, 1999 and 2005 – Tennis Coach Beverly Sheddan wins ODAC Coach of the Year honors

1997 – E&H starts women’s soccer program

1998 – Coach Wacker leads football to an undefeated season and a 10th ODAC championship; Wacker wins his 5th ODAC Coach of the Year honor

2000 – Wasps win final ODAC Championship and NCAA Tournament bid under Wacker

2003 – Softball wins ODAC Championship and becomes first women’s team in school history to reach the NCAA Tournament

2004 – Coach Wacker retires with a career record of 164-76

2012 – Trey McCall selected as ODAC Coach of the Year in baseball

2014 – Emory & Henry acquires Intermont Equestrian program after the closure of Virginia Intermont College

2014 – Curt Newsome selected as ODAC Coach of the Year in football

2015 – Dave Griffore was selected as ODAC Coach of the Year in swimming

2015 – Intermont Equestrian wins International Dressage Association National Championship, the program’s fifth national title in dressage and 18th overall; Morgan Sollenberger also wins the IHSA Individual Championship in Novice Equitation on the Flat

2016 – Intermont Equestrian wins the International Dressage Association National Championship, the program’s third consecutive title and 19th overall; Morgan Sollenberger repeats for the second year as the IHSA Individual Champion, giving Intermont Equestrian its 30th individual national champion

2017 – Softball earns at-large bid to NCAA Tournament after becoming runner-up in ODAC Tournament. The Wasps lost to Transylvania, 4-1, in the opening game and then defeated Thomas More by a score of 6-3 in the second game. Wasps were then eliminated by No. 2-nationally ranked Berry

2018 – Hall of Famer, Anne Crutchfield, named ODAC Coach of the Year in women’s basketball

2018 – Women’s Basketball receives at-large bid to NCAA Tournament, marking the first time the women’s team has played in the tournament. The Wasps reached the Second Round of the NCAA Tournament

2018 – Men’s Basketball wins it’s first-ever ODAC Championship. With the win, the Wasps received in automatic into the NCAA Tournament